Cinkiezholic's world

July 24, 2009

Harry Potter & the Half Blood Prince: Movie Vs Book

Filed under: Sharing...^^ — by cinkiez @ 5:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

When I watched Harry Potter & the Half Blood Prince, i was a li’l bit upset, because there were so many crucial scenes in the book weren’t in the movie..Yeah, I know because there is not enough time to show all the details in the book…But still I expect something darker and more action in this movie, but i didn’t get it. Well, over all I enjoyed the movie.

These are some differences between the movie and the book that I had noticed:

  1. The movie didn’t mention Rufus Scrimgeour as the new Minister of Magic (Actually I was expecting the scene between him and Harry when he said Harry is a Dumbledore’s man through and through)
  2. The movie shows the millennium bridge attack or we’ve known as Brockdale Bridge in the book. The scene is cool…^^
  3. At the beginning. Movie: Harry was picked by Dumbledore at a cafeteria in the train station. Book: Harry was doubt that Dumbledore would come to pick him. He was asleep at his room in Privet drive no.4.
  4. In Slughorn’s house. Movie: Dumbledore knowed that death eaters didn’t attack the house because he smelled the dragon blood. Book: Dumbledore didn’t saw any dark marks which indicate the death eaters’ work, and he asked Slughorn what blood it was.
  5. At Borgin and Burkes. Movie: Malfoy went there together with his mom. Book: the scene in madam Malkin’s show some clues about malfoy was a death eaters, and then malfoy was sneaking to Borgin and Burkes alone without his mother.
  6. At Hogwarts Express. Movie: After attacked by Malfoy, Luna found Harry before the Hogwarts Express was moving. Book: Harry was found by Tonks when the Hogwarts Express stopped at Hogsmeade.
  7. Approaching Slughorn. Book: Harry tried to avoid Slughorn from the beginning until He needs to get Slughorn’s memory while the movie Harry tried to approach him from the beginning.
  8. The Burrows never got any attack at Christmas in the book.
  9. Romilda Vane’s chocolates. Movie: it was left at Harry’s bed, and Ron ate it in that mean time. Book: Romilda gave it by herself to Harry, but Harry forgot about it until Ron’s birthday, and Ron eat those chocolates.
  10. Slug’s memory. Movie: Slug’s memory was modified and the word Horcrux wasn’t mention on those conversations. Book: There was a fog at the crucial conversation but the word Horcrux was mentioned.
  11. There were apparition/disapparition class in the movie..^^..Actually this isn’t crucial..X)
  12. Bezoar. Movie: Harry heard about  this antidote accidentally while waiting Slughorn teaches first grader. Book: In fact Snape has mentioned it in the first grade, but of course Harry had forgotten, He knew about it from the Half Blood Prince’s potion book.
  13. In the book Ron’s family was coming to Hogwarts when they heard that Ron was poisoned.
  14. In the book Slughorn wasn’t stealing the pomona from herbology room, but he asked Prof. Sprout directly. While in the movie, Harry captured him stealing before Harry went to Hagrid’s house.
  15. The memories which Harry saw from pensieve revealed so many things about Voldemort and horcrux that will link us to the seventh book, but unluckily there is not enough time to mention it one by one in the movie.
  16. Katie Bell’s return. Movie: Harry met Katie Bell after she got cursed in the Great Hall at breakfast. Book: Harry met her at Gryffindor common room before Katie was going to attend McGonagall class.
  17. The Half Blood Prince’s book. Movie: Ginny was the one who hide the book at room of requirement. Book: Harry, himself hid the book in the room of requirement before he got detention from Snape because of his curse upon Malfoy (sectumsempra).
  18. There’s no fight scene in Hogwarts when the death eaters attack the school..That’s the climax actually!!!!
  19. I don’t know why, but the movie only shows invisibility cloak once, while in the book Harry used it so many times, especially when Dumbledore was killed. The movie made Harry so coward and useless – just hiding in the downstairs while the death eaters confront Dumbledore.(From my opinion about Harry’s character in the book, He’d do anything to help Dumbledore if he could move)
  20. The Dumbledore’s funeral!!!!!!..It must be one of the best scene in the book..T.T..When Harry took his decision not to come back to Hogwarts. The movie end before Dumbledore’s funeral.

Well..Maybe there are more differences, but I think it’s enough from me..^^..I like the book better than the movie..This is the third times I read the book, but still crying when Dumbledore was killed..I heard that the seventh movie will be divided into two parts, hope it will be better and more exciting..^^

When God made you – Natalie Grant

Filed under: I love this Lyrics — by cinkiez @ 10:15 am
Tags: , ,

It’s always been a mystery to me
How two hearts can come together
And love can last forever
But now that I have found you, I believe
That a miracle has come
When God sends the perfect one

Now gone are all my questions about why
And I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life

chorus:
I wonder what God was thinking
When He created you
I wonder if He knew everything I would need
Because He made all my dreams come true
When God made you
He must have been thinking about me

I promise that wherever you may go
Wherever life may lead you
With all my heart I’ll be there too
From this moment on I want you to know
I’ll let nothing come between us
I’ll love what ever you love

chorus:

He made the sun He made the moon
to harmonise in perfect tune
One can’t move without the other
They just have to be together
And that is why I know it’s true
You’re for me and I’m for you
Cause my world just can’t be right
Without you in my life

I wonder what God was thinking
When He created you
I wonder if He knew everything I would need
Because He made all my dreams come true
He must have heard every prayer I’ve been praying
Yes, He knew everything I would need
When God made you
When dreams come true
When God made you
He must have been thinking about me

We are a TOOL not CARPENTER

Filed under: Sermons — by cinkiez @ 9:50 am
Tags: , ,

This was my first sermon at Thai. At first I was really lazy to go to church because of tiredness one day before and because I hadn’t went to church for almost a month, but my friend insisted me to go. Although we didn’t know where the Christian church was, we intended to go to Catholic Church, but suddenly both of us were arrived at Christian fellowship room. At that time I really felt that JC really cares for me, He doesn’t want me to run away from HIS grace. His hands are long enough to reach me wherever I am. The sermon that day reprimanded me, and now I want to share it here.

The sermon was about Elijah, when he try to run away from Jezebel. Actually he didn’t have to run away, because from what he had done, he showed that OUR LORD is powerful and real, and OUR LORD can help him through anything…Why he tried to run? There are 5 mistakes that Elijah did, that we usually did too in this mean time.

  1. Elijah took his eyes from God. Because of that, he had no faith in God. He didn’t realize that OUR GOD can save him from the most dangerous condition. He forgot that GOD will be with us till the end. (Sometimes, I feel the same too…when troubles come my way, I tend to forget that HE is beside me. I try to run from HIM, but from that serendipity – when I don’t want to go to church thing-, I felt that HE will never let me go)
  2. He didn’t take time to rest. Christian people usually think I need to do everything, something, everyday for God. But the fact what God want is not us trying to do something. What HE really wants us to do is LET HIM DO something THROUGH our LIFE. He wants us to communicate with HIM. (Yeah..I can do anything through HIM who strengthens me..And how I can get more strength is by reading the bible and pray to HIM –communicate with HIM)
  3. Elijah isolated himself. As a human, we tend to withdraw our self when we feel discouraged or depressed. The fact is as a believer we are a part of family. In a family we encourage each other, so no one will feel alone. (I realized, I did the same thing like Elijah..I’ll hide when I feel so depressed, I feel so lazy to face the world, to meet many people, I just want to be alone. But it only makes me weaker and farther from HIS grace. Together with my family, I feel it’s easier to get through all problems, because they encourage me, and remind me about HIS presence)
  4. Elijah had his opinion about himself a li’l bit too high. Elijah was a li’l bit cocky. Actually in our lives, even we did great things, it is not our work, but GOD has HIS work on us/ THROUGH us. If He doesn’t want to choose us, HE STILL has million people to do our jobs.. (Wow..We’re really nothing rite? But HE has chosen us from millions people…It’s a grace and an honor for us..).
  5. Elijah had a hearing problem. He had listened to the wrong voice/ person, not to THE LORD’s. Like a gun without bullets, and like a glove without hand, it’s us without HIM..It can’t work. Because we’re only a TOOL not the CARPENTER. Without our CARPENTER, we can do nothing..GOD is working through us each day..Have a blessed day

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.